Ferry Advisory Committees

Ferry Advisory Committees (FACs) are volunteer committees.  The role of each FAC is to act as a liaison between islanders and BC Ferries.  The FACs do not work for the ferry corporation, nor do they get any free perks. They are local island people trying to protect and improve their island links to Vancouver Island and the mainland.

Their aim is to provide a conduit for islanders to raise issues with BC Ferries and for information to be shared between BC Ferries’ management and island residents on day-to-day ferry operations, planned improvements to terminals and broader policy issues, such as the tariff and the corporate strategic plan.

Thirteen Ferry Advisory Committees represent the communities served by BC Ferries. Committees are appointed in cooperation with local governments, the Islands Trust and First Nations. Ferry Advisory Committees are appointed to serve for a period of four years, with the current terms ending in 2018.

Ferry Advisory Committee pages:

Bowen Island

Brentwood Bay/Mill Bay

Denman & Hornby Islands

Gabriola Island

Gambier and Keats Islands

North & Central Coast

Northern Sunshine Coast

Quadra & Cortes Islands

Salt Spring Island

Southern Gulf Islands

Southern Sunshine Coast

Thetis and Penelakut Islands